Orange Chicken

Image(Photo of how mine turned out. Taken by the Kid Unit with her digital on ‘food’ setting–handy little thing, huh?)

Someone sent this recipe to me a few months ago. It sounded good and so I filed it away and forgot about it–until last week when I had a hankering for something just like this.  I pulled the recipe out and gave it a try.  For the most part, we all liked it.  I do know how I’ll tweak it for the next time, but I wanted to share it with you all as I made it for my family.

 Orange Chicken

1 1/2 lbs. boneless, skinless chicken breast, cut into bite size pieces

1 cup flour
1/4 cup cornstarch
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon pepper
1 egg (beaten)
oil for frying

1 1/2 cups water
3 Tablespoons orange juice (fresh)
1 Tablespoon lemon juice (fresh)
1/4 cup rice vinegar
2 1/2 Tablespoons soy sauce
1 1/2 Tablespoons orange zest (grated)
1 cup packed brown sugar
1/2 teaspoon ginger root (minced)
1/2 teaspoon garlic (minced)
2 Tablespoons green onion (chopped) Plus more for garnish
1/4 teaspoon red pepper flakes Plus more for garnish
3 Tablespoons cornstarch
2 Tablespoons water

*Combine flour, cornstarch, salt & pepper. In another bowl add the egg. Dip chicken in egg mixture and let excess drip off. Dredge in flour mixture, shake off extra flour. Preheat oil to 375 degrees F in deep fryer, wok, or large skillet. I used just about an inch or two of oil in a large skillet and rotate the chicken until all browned about 4 minutes per side. Drain on wire rack over paper towels.

Meanwhile in a large sauce pan combine water, orange juice, lemon juice, vinegar, and soy sauce. Blend well over medium heat for a few minutes.  Stir in brown sugar, orange zest, ginger root, garlic, and green onions. Bring to boil. In a small bowl combine cornstarch and water until well blended. Slowly stir in sauce until sauce thickens. Pour sauce over chicken. Top with more green onions and red pepper flakes if desired. Serve w/ white rice

Next time, I’ll cut back on the brown sugar as it was a TAD too sweet for our taste, but overall, this recipe is definitely a keeper.

I just wish I could remember where it came from so I could give proper credit. If you know, please let me know.



So...what do you think?